homeward bound rules

If you ever watched the movie Homeward Bound as a kid (or as a parent), then you are familiar with Homeward Bound Rules . . .

Every road leads home.

Today, that truth is ringing in my ears and warming my heart.

My focus is not on the cold, the slush, or the 6 hour drive ahead of me. My focus is on the destination and the loved ones who will be waiting on me. No matter how chaotic my life has been the past few weeks, I am always welcome at home. Now, there’s no promise that it’ll be less chaotic there. . . if you know my family, then you understand it’s National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation in full swing.

But there’s no place I’d rather be for the holidays. Mom still trying to get everything decorated and passing off cooking duties. My brother swearing he’s not touching another ornament and refusing to put on anything other than his Mt Dew pajama pants. My dad hiding his fruitcake (even though nobody else likes it) only to find it in June.

We’ll hustle and bustle to family functions, Christmas brunches, parties, and parades. At the end of the day we’ll come together in the living room, laugh, joke, and be warmed by the heat that “all those freaking lights” on our tree put off (according to Mom).

I like them ๐Ÿ™‚

And Christmas morning we’ll wake up to a fire, super slow cooked grits, Kenny G Christmas music, and the blessing of another year together.

Today. . .nothing matters. Not finals. Not travel. Not packing or driving. Today, the only thing that matters is every road leads home, and that’s where I’m going.

So thankful. So blessed. So excited.

2 thoughts on “homeward bound rules

Leave a Reply

