give thanks – day 5

Today my heart overflows with thanks for First Baptist Church Louisville, GA, the leaders who taught me, and the friends who challenged me during that season.

FBC may have not been flashy or full of jeans and projector screens, but it was in those tiny pews in my dress clothes that I learned the character of God. So thankful for people like Preacher Dude (Mr. Larry), Bill Smith (music minister and young musicians fearless leader!), and Shane Padgett (former youth pastor) who decided to minister to a little red-head in an even smaller town.

They didn’t do it for the glory or the fame (none of that is associated with Louisville). They may have only been there for a season or a lifetime.  But they changed my life forever by being faithful to the call of the Lord to minister whole-heartedly wherever He placed them.

Preacher Dude offered such wisdom and taught me it was okay to not know all the answers. Mr. Bill tirelessly taught us every song and hymn known to man. Although we had to ride that horrible bus each week and wear ridiculous costumes, I still find myself singing those wonderful hymns (and even some of the dorky yet catchy young musician songs). Shane challenged me to study the Word with a fervor I’d never had before, and to step up and stand out for the faith.

My FBC family was one that can never be replaced. Each person touched my life a different way and I am forever thankful for their craziness, friendship, and ministry.

He is the one we proclaim, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom,so that we may present everyone fully mature in Christ. To this end I strenuously contend with all the energy Christ so powerfully works in me. – Colossians 1:28-29

Wherever you are, whatever you’re doing….I want you to know that I thank the Lord for you all. I pray you are continuing to admonish and teach those around you, because your efforts are not in vain.

 

 

Leave a Reply

