give thanks – day 10

Today I’m thankful that the Lord perfectly orchestrated 2 family’s paths to cross and forever change both.

My parents have been scuba diving and vacationing with a group of couples for nearly 15 years. About 2 years ago, I got accepted into Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. Little did I know that I would be moving to North Carolina and living within 2 miles from my mom and dad’s closest friends.

Needless to say, my parents were relieved I’d have someone to take care of me. To be honest, I was a bit nervous. I didn’t want to be a burden to family friends, and didn’t know much about these people that would now essentially be my lifeline in North Carolina.

During preview weekend, we were all able to enjoy a meal together at Rick and Peg’s house. I got to hear stories of all their vacations and slowly felt at ease. They were as loud, loving, and opinionated as my own family, so I slowly settled in.

Let’s just say that settling in process didn’t take long. After weekly dinners (Haasta Pasta nights), walks at the park, and pottery festivals I found myself right at home–my second home.

Rick and Peg have gone from being strangers to friends to family. I thank the Lord daily for their friendship and love. They take care of me when I’m sick, make me laugh until I cry, and have welcomed me with open hearts and arms. I couldn’t be more thankful that our paths crossed, and that they have adopted me into their family.

Leave a Reply

